Skip to content

The Garden

May 4, 2011

I’m very lucky. Not just like lucky at the slots, but life lucky. I’ve had the good fortune to live in California pretty much my whole life, and I got to grow up near the beach. I wasn’t a beach baby, per se, but summers were spent in or near the water and ocean view dining was de rigeur. I’m lucky. Maybe you call it blessed.

I’m also lucky to have grown up about a mile from the sea, on a small “farm” we like to call Cherryvale Farms…hence the business name. For as long as I can remember, my parents had a profusely abundant garden, overflowing with zucchini in the summer and pumpkins in the fall. We even had chickens for several years when I was a tweenager. There was no Justin Bieber then, I suppose, so my sister and I obsessed over our hens. They had fabulous names too: Henrietta, Helen, The Hen-manator…we were clever, clever children.

This week I’m up in Santa Cruz working on said business (much progress to be reported later!) and I couldn’t help but stop and admire the spring garden outside my window. Lettuce is coming in, strawberries are turning rosy red and beans and onions are growing tall and lean.

Being distracted by said garden also prevented me from doing any cooking today, mind putting some goat cheese on a plate with crackers for friends. So, I invite you to view the garden, in all it’s glory. And look back on what your childhood looked like fondly.

Oh, and of course I had to throw in a photo of The Naked Walnut for good measure.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

