Skip to content

Pineapple Upside Down Cake

February 11, 2011

Because, why not?

Why not indulge in classic Americana with a big ‘ol slice of tropical fruit? I dare you to question it. Questioning Pineapple Upside Down Cake is like questioning the American Constitution. Can’t. Be. Done.

This recipe makes me picture a quaint little housewife at home in small town Kentucky or Iowa in the 1950’s and she’s just received a lovely, fresh pineapple from her in-laws that took their first trip to Hawaii. She’s never seen one in real life; only the sad semblance of pineapple she gets in the can at her grocery store. What a treat! What will she bake? Why, Pineapple Upside Down Cake, of course, and she’ll invite all the neighborhood ladies over for tea that afternoon to enjoy it.

I think of this little scene and deeply ponder that I may have been born to the wrong generation. I am that housewife. And I’m wearing a ruffled apron. And heels…in the kitchen. I slept in curlers the night before. I will have a roast beef on the table at 6:00 p.m. sharp for my husband. I am happy.

Alas, I am a product of generation X, a rare homemaker type among a sea of techies, info-maniacs, celebro-philes and those with an otherwise 2-second attention span.

So when I make Pineapple Upside Down Cake I don’t look up the recipe online or on a blog. I reach for the Joy of Cooking. The same book that housewife probably used for her recipe. I feel a kindred moment between us, this non-existent housewife and I. And then I bake. And then I eat. And then I go watch Real Housewives of Beverly Hills while playing Angry Birds on my iPad and occasionally scanning my Facebook news feed. So I guess that kindred moment was brief.

 

If you feel like making one of these cakes yourself, check out this uber modern take on the classic. And it has rum. Yum.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

